Testimonials and Reviews

Hudson Valley Scoliosis Correction Center & Strauss Chiropractic

Andrew J. Strauss, DC

Scoliosis Specialist & Chiropractor located in Nanuet, NY

60 total reviews

Dr. Andrew J. Strauss always appreciates feedback from his valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 60 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Dr. Andrew Strauss below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

My son was diagnosed with Scoliosis at the age of 7. William's curve was 27 degrees. My son's care is diligent, attentive and top notch. William has made nice progress because of it. Thank you! What we like most about coming to the office is the individuals that make up the office. My son feels truly at home when receiving his care. This has been a difficult adventure for a young 7 year old boy but the office has made this journey worth exploring. I value Dr Strauss's knowledge of his patients and the cases that walk through his door. As the mom who has already lived through what my son is experiencing, I wish there was a Dr. Strauss 34 years ago. – Marlene C., mother of William C., age 8
03/29/17
I have scoliosis with pain in my neck and upper back. I would give the care at Hudson Valley Scoliosis an 11 out of 10! Dr. Strauss is really good at what he does. For example, I went from having intense headaches 5 days a week to practically none =) Everyone in the office is really nice and your treatment is never rushed, even if you're here after 6 (closing time!). If you are thinking about coming to Dr. Strauss, you should definitely come! It is totally worth it. 100% guaranteed satisfaction =) – Jill P., age 18
03/29/17
I had severe mid/lower back pain, as well as in the hip, shoulder & leg. Enough pain to stop me from getting a sound sleep and from doing daily activities. I've had a dramatic 30% improvement in the curvature and alignment of my spine. A 98% reduction of pain and 100% restoration of movement. 100% improvement of my general health!!! Dr. Strauss’s knowledge of the various effective techniques has restored my health.
03/29/17
Dr. Strauss is very gentle with all his patients. The care is excellent. My son is always relaxed and comfortable at the office. He no longer has to wear a brace all day and he is much less restricted than when he wore his brace. Our son was diagnosed with Scoliosis at age 5. His curve was about 30° and was required to wear a brace for 23 hours a day. Orthopedic told us our son would be facing surgery in the near future. Dr. Strauss began working with our son at age 6. Now at age 8 he wears a brace only at night and his curve has stabilized. – John B., father of Owen B., age 8
03/29/17
The care here is excellent. The special Scoliosis treatment was helping my daughter Emily a lot. The curve on her spine became much smaller. We do like the people at the office and the treatment. Everybody is working hard to help the children. Come and see and experience the improvement of your Scoliosis. – Peter S., father of Emily S., age 14 and Jennifer S., age 12
03/29/17
My 7-year-old has severe Scoliosis--34 degree curve. She was told to start bracing and that she would possibly have to start having operations adding titanium rods to her back every 6 months. The care at Hudson Valley Scoliosis is very customized and detailed with excellent follow-up. We've had wonderful results. My daughter's curve shrunk to 10 degrees. Her orthopedic surgeon couldn't believe it. We continued to see him every 6 months. Our results have been terrific. We do the exercises faithfully. My 18-year-old son's curve jumped 17 degrees (although his orthopedist discharged him three years ago) and now he's being treated by Dr. Strauss, also. - Louise M., mother of Vanessa B., age 7
03/29/17
My daughter was diagnosed with 26 degree scoliosis in 2010 when she was 8 years old. After some research we went to a pediatric orthopedist in Central Jersey. The doctor has not recommended braces or any other exercises to do at home at that time and recommended us to monitor the progress. After a year, we had another visit and learned that the curve increased to 31 degrees. After seeing this increase, the doctor recommended her to wear braces. After 2 weeks, we got the braces (Boston braces) and were told that she should wear it at least 16 hours a day. It was very difficult for her to wear the braces. She was trying for a few hours and complaining that it hurts and was asking us to take it off. We had a really hard time to have her use it. At one of those days, we were looking for some alternative treatments and found out about Dr. Strauss, Hudson valley Scoliosis Correction Center at Nanuet, NY. We called their office and took an appointment in the mid of November 2012. After initial consultation, X-rays, and tests we started treatment with Dr. Strauss. From December 2012 to March 2013, we did treatment for about 3 months. The orthopedist asked us how she was doing wearing the braces. We told him that it had not been good. After an X-ray taken, he told us that the curve decreased to 16 degrees. We couldn't believe this result. While discussing the result with the orthopedist, he told us that even with this much wearing there had been good progress and recommended to wear the braces more. But my daughter, during the 3 months, maybe wore the braces 16hours/day for only a few days, some other days she wore at most 5-6 hours. And most days, she didn't wear it at all. Just to give the doctor precise information, I said "Dr. during this 3 month period, in total, she might have worn the braces maybe 5-10% of the times that she should have". And we told him about the treatment with Dr. Strauss's office and told him that other than Dr. Strauss's office we didn't do anything else. He said you can continue that therapy and wearing the braces at the same time. Now, she completely stopped wearing the braces and we are continuing Dr. Strauss's office for therapy but I should mention that Dr. Strauss recommended us to wear the braces (during the night when she is sleeping) as well. Does this show the braces doesn't do anything good, and shouldn't be used? NO, I cannot say that. Because my daughter didn't use it properly so we don't have any accurate information about the effect of braces. But I should emphasize that she didn't want to wear the braces and the only treatment we had for that time period was the therapy with Dr. Strauss' office. We thank God for giving us this beautiful result and appreciate Dr. Strauss and all his team for his great efforts, hard work and passion for the work they do. I wrote just a summary of our story. If any patient/parent wants to verify this information and get more details about our story, he/she can get my contact info from Dr. Strauss's office and contact me directly to get more information. – Murtaza O., father of Mucella O., age 11
03/29/17
I have Scoliosis with pain in my back and arm. I've had excellent care at Hudson Valley Scoliosis since I started here. I've had Scoliosis since childhood and now that I am older there is not much that can be done but coming to Dr. Strauss has made me feel so much better. His treatment has been wonderful. I like coming to Dr. Strauss's office as they are very caring and you are treated with such care. I've improved 100% with not as much pain. I would recommend anyone to give Dr. Strauss a try. You will not regret it. He's such a very compassionate and caring doctor. He's the best. I was very fortunate to have Dr. Strauss take care of me. I'm so much better.
03/29/17
I have severe S-curve shaped Scoliosis. Developing since birth. My main problem is in the lumbar region. I have episodes of aching in the area. Also the pain radiates down the front of my right leg. I would describe my treatment to involve stretching my back and neck out, which loosens my muscles and spine to relieve the tightness in my back. My care also involves shaping and molding my lower back with an electric activator device which helps flatten my lower spine, which can stick out at times when I get muscle spasms. I am also able to stand straighter and my pain is dramatically lessened after treatment with Dr. Strauss. I enjoy talking with Dawn and Darlene, Dr. Strauss's assistants. They are always cheerful and helpful and go out of their way to make it comfortable while you are there during your visit. When I go for my follow-up visits, I like to tell Dr. Strauss about my progress and how well I am doing with my overall physical health. I also like to tell him how I am doing with the isometric exercises that I do on a daily basis. Most of all, I like coming to Dr. Strauss's office because I know when I leave I will have more energy and I am less stiff. I would highly recommend to try chiropractic care from the CLEAR Institute to other people with Scoliosis. Orthopedic surgeons can't really do much for people with Scoliosis except do surgery or put a patient in a brace for a period of time. This type of chiropractic treatment is a lot less painful and uncomfortable, and it allows a person to participate in their own treatment by doing daily exercises. It also did not take that long for me to feel much better. I felt much better after the end of my first week of intensive treatment! It is now 10 months since I started treatment with Dr. Strauss and I definitely have less overall pain in the lower back, less back spasms, less pain down my right leg, and I stand straighter.
03/29/17
My daughter was diagnosed with a 67 degree thoracic curvature in Aug 2012 during summer vacation in Atlanta a few weeks shy of her 12th birthday! (Just a year before we contacted Dr Strauss.) It was devastating! We were referred to a scoliosis expert for children who fitted her with the Spinecor brace which cost almost $5000. She wore it for a year during which I had engaged in online researches for scoliosis treatment and Clear institute came up! I was fascinated with the exercise methods, Youtube videos of success stories and knew it should work for my daughter! Contacted several of the clear institute certified doctors but only Dr Strauss responded with pure honesty, integrity, passion and I could sense pure dedication to what he does to help the correction of scoliosis from his tone during phone calls and emails! Long and short of it all, my entire family came to NY to support my daughter during her 2 weeks intensive therapy programme! It was daunting and even more devastating when after a comprehensive and thorough evaluation, her curvature had progressed to 99 degrees thoracic and 78 degrees lumber!! Imagine d horror and heartbreak even after the 22 hour wear of the brace over a year! It didn't work! Dr Strauss was open and encouraged us! It was a pretty high and severe curve! He advice us to get MRIs done to rule out any underlying conditions that the xrays can't pick up and got an expert with vast years of experience to read the MRIs! He even went further to get us a discount on the MRI payment as we had no health insurance! Thankfully, results were normal and clean! Dr Strauss armed with the results and the assistance of Darlene, they got to work on my daughter with various machines, exercises, stretches?, weights etc. They were amazing! She was further armed with exercise materials, dvds, diagrams and her cantilever (apparatus:thats the pipe like thing you must have seen on their website) was built to her curve specification. It was intense on my daughter but she had to keep pushing and work harder with all that is at our disposal in terms of experts, methods and machines to reduce her curve, especially as we don't have such resources back home in Nigeria! Of course we threw the $5000 brace in the trash! My daughter resumed at the clinic about 7.30am, has a 2 hour break about noon and back till 6pm 5 days a week except for friday which is half day, Tuesdays and Saturdays are off days! My daughter was not alone, many teenagers and preteens that came from all over the world were enrolled for the 2wk programme, from Syria, Russia,Turkey,London etc. That boosted her moral as the other patients encouraged one another and of course friendship evolved! After 2 weeks of intense therapy sessions, home rehab exercises and breathing exercises, her curve was reduced to 76 degrees? thoracic and 58 degrees lumber!! It was a miracle, a delight and a blessing! It worked!! Exercises work! We were given evaluation reports backed up with strict instructions to follow with her cantilever that was built to help her exercises in the clinic and at home! Her posture had improved, her lung capacity and breathing was better, her flexibility and reach was better and of course her confidence soared! She is doing her exercises twice a day and with her apparatus 3 times daily. She turned 13 2 weeks ago and is doing very well according to pictures I send to Dr Strauss for evaluation. Myself and her are looking forward to her? follow up next month! I believe in the system! The staff was superb! Darlene kept encouraging my daughter and never gave up on her! Dawn, ever smiling and on her toes with information to make your stay at the clinic and Nanuet as pleasant as possible, always genuinely ready to help! Heather keeps me updated via emails and is very warm! With these wonderful people working with Dr Strauss, i was at peace! My daughter had very good results after the 2wks and we are still pushing to reduce the curve! I hope I haven't bored you! Lol! But I can authoritatively recommend you look into sending your child to Nanuet! You will not regret it! Warm Regards, - Aurelia, mother of Venus, age 13, Lagos, Nigeria
03/29/17
I never considered that I had scoliosis until my mother explained that she had a spine that had 30% scoliosis. She then showed me a Velcro body suit that she was expected to wear, and she said she wasn't going to wear it because it was so heavy and uncomfortable (and I agreed with her!). She then said the only thing that could be done was surgery in the future. I knew that I needed to do something about the problems I was having when I walked, perhaps it was also scoliosis. It was then that I went to the computer to search about scoliosis. This time the information that I came upon was Dr. Strauss's website and I noted the title of Scoliosis Correction Center. I then made an for a consultation. Dr Strauss explained that I had three conditions according to my spinal X-rays, one of which was scoliosis. Before I started my treatments, I could not walk for more than 100 feet without having leg and hip pain. After several months of treatments and doing exercises that were assigned to me, I pleased to say that I am greatly improved. I have been been able to return to ballroom dancing and enjoy other activities through the restoration of my spine. I am thankful for the results that have been made toward the healing of my spine through this natural chiropractic approach, mindful always that we are fearfully and wonderfully made by God. - Susan Weber
03/29/17
I was brought to Dr. Strauss’s office after my orthopedic doctor told me I had a 42 degree curve and recommended surgery. I am an active 15 year old and was experiencing no pain. My left shoulder was higher than my right. Also, my right shoulder blade stuck out more than the left. Other than those signs, I would not have known anything was wrong. I describe my care at Dr. Strauss’s office in one word: Exceptional! My parents contacted his office the Sunday after I had seen the orthopedic doctor (which was Friday). They explained that we were checking in to what other treatments were available for scoliosis and would like to learn more about the CLEAR treatments. We were directed to come down and a least start the paperwork and see the office. Upon our arrival, we started the paperwork, toured the office, and to our surprise met Dr. Strauss. Dr. Strauss took the time to explain all the treatment options, not just the CLEAR treatments. He gave me a complete examination and made sure to answer any question we had. Before we left, he said he would have a treatment plan for me by the following day. Every time I come in for treatment, Dawn, Heather, Darleen, and Dr. Strauss are all very nice and friendly. They always ask how I am doing, and about school. The thing I like most about coming to the office is knowing that I am doing everything I can to avoid surgery. I like seeing the improvement in my range of motion. I like that I feel taller and people have started to notice that I am standing straighter. It is also great meeting other kids who have scoliosis. I like knowing that I am not alone. The added bonus is I get to meet kids from other states and other countries. Stop thinking about it and go see Dr. Strauss. He will take the time to explain everything and it is well worth the trip. He gives you honest answers on what you can expect to get out of these treatments. You owe it to yourself and your back to at least check out your options. - Kevin C., age 15
03/29/17
I found Dr. Strauss on the internet. I liked the description of various treatments available to all ages. I’m very satisfied. Everyone has been so caring and very professional. I've noticed a difference every day as a result of treatment. I feel very positive about the future and my quality of life. - Fran M.
03/29/17
I know and feel Dr. Strauss can improve my scoliosis and avoid surgery or bracing. Their center is always neat and organized every time I come in. With the program of care and treatment, I am very satisfied. In every machine and exercise, I feel the improvement of my spine. In their facility, I especially LOVE talking to the staff, Such as Darlene, Heather, Dawn and of course Dr. Strauss! Anybody who is trying bracing or recommending surgery you NEED to come see Dr. Strauss at Hudson Valley Scoliosis. He’s a genius! He will try to reduce your spine back to normal. Bracing is nothing compared to his treatment. At the end of the day here at Hudson Valley Scoliosis, you’ll leave with a big smile on your face! Literally! Always think twice before surgery and trying bracing because here at Hudson Valley you won’t regret it! : ) - Jennifer R., age 14
03/29/17
I chose Hudson Valley Scoliosis for scoliosis treatment because my mother did research and it seemed like they know what they are doing. I’m very satisfied. This is the first time time my scoliosis reduced that much, even at all. I would just like to say, thank you very much! I would tell someone considering bracing or surgery, to come see Dr. Strauss. Before I came here, I didn’t think there could be a change with my back and I was considering bracing and surgery. Since I came here, I finally know that there’s an option other than surgery. This is a good thing for everyone who has scoliosis. - Cassandra R., age 17, Montreal
03/29/17
CLEAR Institute came up in my Google search for “Alternative Treatments”. Dr. Strauss’ way of speaking and relating to Erika was very effective. (Even though Erika had initial negative attitude when we first arrived) Darlene’s has a great way of persuading and cajoling Erika to be pushed positively. Dawn’s attitude too was also to encourage Erika to be responsible and independent! I am very satisfied, I saw how Dr. S tried different ways to customize the program and the weighted apparatus. I wish I had taken my daughter here earlier. - Karin Y., Mother of Erika N., age 13
03/29/17
I found out about Hudson Valley Scoliosis on the internet and from The CLEAR Institute website. We chose your office because of the proximity to our home, the cost compared with other providers, and the informative and welcoming phone conversations prior to own first visit. We feel very satisfied because of your comprehensive approach. The care we received here was more personalized to my daughter's needs. Thank you very much for giving us our hope back! - Mrs L., Mother of Hannah L., age 15
03/29/17
I wanted to manage & potentially correct my scoliosis w/o bracing because I knew it was getting worse. I think the staff & Dr Strauss are amazing & courageous for delving into this kind of alternative treatment for a condition that is known to be hard to cure. The machines also do wonders & make me feel much better & pain free! I am very satisfied with the program & treatment I received. It definitely made my back feel better & I feel like my condition has improved. I would tell anyone considering bracing or surgery that there is a better option!! The treatment & program here works and with some time & effort, their scoliosis will get better!! - Joan B., (Adult Scoliosis)
03/29/17
The reply of Dr Strauss to all of my questions before coming to Nanuet--that is what made me choose Hudson Valley Scoliosis. We felt that the Hudson Valley team is our family. I am fully satisfied. If you are considering bracing or surgery, don't do it, try CLEAR protocol and repeat it again and again. Don't go for surgery unless it is the last option. - Mr Z., father of Sara, age 15, Kuwait
03/29/17
We chose HVS for it's alternative method of treating scoliosis. I think the program and treatment are excellent. Try this method. I have told people about the program. - Mother of patient, age 9
03/29/17
Ask us

Feel free to email us regarding any scheduling or general questions!

Name
Email Address
Comments
Follow Us
Hours

Andrew Strauss, DC
250 West Route 59
Suite 4A
Nanuet, NY 10954